Each regular election is held on the first Tuesday in April in the even-numbered years, and all special elections called by the Board of Trustees for any purpose, shall be in the manner prescribed by the Colorado Municipal Election Code. The Town may by ordinance determine to follow all or part of the provisions of the Uniform Election Code of 1992 for any election.

CLICK HERE for more information on the Town of San Luis Municiple Code on Elections.


§1-13.5-513(6), 32-1-104, 1-11-103(3) C.R.S.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN by the TOWN OF SAN LUIS, Costilla County, Colorado, that at the close of business on the sixty-forth day before the election, there were not more candidates for Trustee than offices to be filled, including candidates filing affidavits of intent to be write-in candidates; therefore, the election to be held on April 7th, 2020 is hereby canceled pursuant to section 1-13.5-513(6) C.R.S.    

The following candidates are hereby declared elected:
Jessica Y. Durgan                                  (4-year term)                              until April, 2024

Roberta Romero                                    (4-year term)                             until April 2024

/Rebecca Romero/
Designated Election Official


The Town of San Luis to Hold Trustee Election April 7, 2020

Three San Luis Board of Trustee seats will be open for election on Tuesday, April 7, 2020. Anyone, over the age of 18 by the date of the election, who is a registered voter and has resided within the Town of San Luis limits for at least the 12 months prior to election day is eligible to run for the position of Trustee.

Candidate packets and nomination petitions may be picked up at the San Luis Town Hall, 408 Main Street, Monday through Friday, between 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. Nominating Petitions may be circulated starting Tuesday, January 7, 2020 and must be returned by Monday, January 27th, 2020, end of business day.

Election Calendar and instructions for being placed on the ballot will be included with the candidate’s packet.

San Luis residents who are not registered and want to vote on Tuesday, April 7th, 2020 must register by March 16, 2020. The Costilla County Clerk and Recorder will accept registrations during normal business hours. Absentee voter applications for municipal election are available for pick up at the San Luis Town Hall.

Anyone applying for an absentee ballot can only vote using the Absentee Ballot and will not be allowed to vote at the polls on Election Day. Absentee Ballot applications must be picked up by 4:00 pm on March 23, 2020 and must be filed no later than Friday, April 3, 2020 by 4:00 pm. Absentee ballots must be turned in to the Town Hall by 7:00 pm Election Day, Tuesday, April 7th, 2020 to be counted.

The corporate limits of the Town of San Luis constitute the boundaries of the municipal precinct for the purposes of Municipal Elections.

December 16, 2019
Rebecca Romero
Designated Election Official


Mayor Votes
Tiffany A. Gallegos 110
Theresa S. Medina 50
Jessica Y. Durgan 90
Charlene F. Gallegos 61
Acela Garcia 54
Shantae Martinez 94
Roberta M. Romero 75
Jarad J. Sanchez 115
Brian Valdez 135
The winning candidates were sworn in at the April 10th, 2018 regular Town Hall Meeting. Congratulations to our new Town Board!